Back to All Events

Classical Concert at The Sage - Mendelssohn Symphony No.1

The Sage, Gateshead | Classical Season 2017/18 | RNS at Home


Bradley Creswick director/violin
Kyra Humphreys violin 
Royal Northern Sinfonia

Britten Sinfonietta
Vaughan Williams Violin Concerto ‘Concerto Accademico’
J S Bach Concerto for Two Violins
W F Bach Sinfonia in D minor
Mendelssohn Symphony No.1

Launching our Mendelssohn Symphony series, this concert features not only the composer’s accomplished first, but also Britten’s youthful Op.1.

If you like The Lark Ascending, you should not miss the opportunity to hear Vaughan Williams’ other delightful violin concerto. Based on Bach’s sublime ‘Double’ Concerto, it is performed tonight by co-leader Kyra Humphreys, marking 20 years with RNS this season.

Book directly through the Sage. There is a bus going from Alnwick via Felton, Amble & Warkworth which costs £8 in addition to your concert ticket.

Earlier Event: 3 October
Drop In Singing
Later Event: 7 October
Calamity Jane - Musical In A Morning